Cheikh and his new little buddy

Our visit to Miname was far too short… but there’s always next year! As I’ve said – and you can see – it was beyond great to see everyone and go back to a place that means so much to me.

We saw Mbaye, my nightguard, and his wife Khady and their two kids. We saw Bouna Bèye (Jana’s Wolof language tutor) and his brother Mbaye Doudou. And of course, we visited with Moussa Ndiaye, the village chief.

Seriously, he has not aged a bit. Still a great sense of humor, quick on his feet and a wonderful smile.

She was the cutest little thing.

The big news in Miname is that last week a huge wave crashed up into the village and flooded the first row of houses and took out several walls on the edge. Apparently this is only the second time it’s ever happened, so not expecting another… but then again, when do you expect the ocean’s tides to be so unpredictable?

See?

Everyone sends their greetings to our families in the US. They asked about Roxaya, Mariama and Amy. I told they that Roxaya had two children now… and then realized halfway through the day that I should have specified that she has a husband AND two kids. Apparently without that clarification, some had assumed just two kids. They were very happy to hear she’d gotten married first. (My apologies for temporarily tarnishing your reputation, Roxaya!)

Such great smiles

As we left, a woman shook my left hand with hers. In the US, this may just seem a little weird. But in Senegal it is very offensive to touch someone with your left hand. The left hand is considered dirty because it’s the one they use to wash with. (Did I mention there’s no TP in Senegalese homes?)

You never hand someone something with your left hand, you never eat with your left hand, and you never touch someone with your left hand.

So why did this woman shake my left hand? By doing so, I am now obligated to come back again to reconcile the wrongdoing. It’s a symbolic way of ensuring that the person leaving will come back again. (Pfff… as if I needed a handshake to seal the deal :))

Gaal (fishing boats) in front of Miname
The chief of Miname, Moussa Ndiaye
Cheikh playing with kids on the beach
Incredible ceebu jenn at Bintou's
Everybody loves Cheikh. (Including me.)
Miname kids are the cutest. Period.
One of the Ndiaye wives
Think you like Miname? Lucky for you, there's a house for 'cell' here!