The Sahel

In a lovely send-off to moving to Africa’s Sahel, Georgia decided to dump 5-7 inches of snow on our heads. As a result, school has been cancelled the entire week (which will run into MLK Day on Monday) and the newest form of entertainment is watching cars slide on the icy road in front of the house.

First mail delivery this week. Not that I blame them. As you can tell from the photo, I'm not leaving the house if I don't have to.

After being cooped up in the house for three days, we braved the white madness yesterday for a trip to Wal-Mart to restock on necessities, such as ice cream and rice for making mafé.

Wal-Mart doesn’t exactly have a reputation for being classy, but let me tell you, let loose the cabin-fevered parents with their offspring plus that the fact that Georgians seem to think ‘winter clothes’ means pj bottoms tucked into fuzzy boots and you get to a whole new level of WOW.

Cheikh wanted me to take a picture of the completely emptied egg section and the sign on the milk section that said ‘Limit 4 per customer’. Omelets anyone?

And just in case you haven’t heard it, I wanted to mention that the city of Atlanta apparently has only 10 snow plows. To be honest, I don’t find that surprising and I think buying too many more would be a waste of money considering this winter event is being called ‘Atlanta’s Snowmaggedon’. Nonetheless, I did appreciate the title of an article I read this morning:

The South Crippled by Winter Storms: The City of Atlanta Reacts Like a Third-World Country

Maybe Georgia really is actually trying to prepare us for Senegal?

