Grannie Acuff's recipe tin

Last night my dad brought something over from my grandmother – a collection of recipes from my great-grandmother, Velma, who grew up in Lake Wales, Florida. In our family, she is simply referred to as ‘Grannie’. There’s one photo of her holding me as a baby before she died at the age of 90 in 1983. Seeing as I’m slightly obsessed with recipes, I loved going through them and getting to know her.

Any guesses as to what this recipe makes?

I found that I actually have a lot in common with my great-grandmother, even though I don’t remember her. We both love desserts, especially chocolate desserts. We both collect recipes from friends. And many of our hand-scribbled recipes on piece of scratch paper are just a list of ingredients – possibly measurements, but probably no instructions or even a title to indicate what the recipe results will be!

My Best Gingerbread - perhaps the secret is in the butter/lard mixture?

The collection included no less than five recipes for orange cake, a couple lemon cakes, grapefruit salads and candied grapefruit. I remember my grandmother telling me she grew up in Florida right smack in the middle of citrus groves. So those orange cake recipes made a lot of sense.

I love it.
Heirloom recipe for Barbecued Weiners anyone?
How about Dill Pickle and Pineapple Salad?
Frozen lemon filling - another citrus classic
Not sure if sand cake is Florida-inspired as well, but the recipe looks tasty.
A classic.
But the Tollhouse Cupcakes are new for me.
There were about 200+ recipes in the box.
Based on the name Marguerite in the upper right corner, I'm guessing this recipe came from my grandmother. Recent history!
Chicken and Rice. No puking. Oh wait - that says 'No peeking.'
This makes me laugh. 2 cups carrots and 1 cup sugar. I love it because when i was little I asked my grandmother why her carrot sticks were so good and she said she soaked them in sugar-water. To this day, I don't know if she was serious or not!
One recipe was written on the back of this envelope.
Gotta' love a recipe that ends with 'set aside for 2 to 3 weeks'.
One last treasure from the recipe tin...
The recipe I'm going to make first!

Grannie Acuff’s Butter Cake, from Mrs Wiley

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs yolks
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cups flour
2 1/2 level teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 egg whites

Cream butter and sugar.* Sift flour, salt and baking powder and add alternately, beating well. Add vanilla and heat.** Fold in stiffly beaten egg whites. Bake at 375°.

*Hmmm… am thinking this is where the egg yolks and milk get added in.
** As in preheat the oven?

I’ll let you know how it goes. In the meantime, any family recipes you want to share?