Flying over Western Sahara

Here’s a free Wolof language lesson. When greeting people, you first say hello (literally ‘peace be upon you’) then ask how they are doing. The response to this question is not, “I’m fine,” or, “I’m doing well.” Instead you say, “I am here.” In Wolof that’s maa ngi fii. But if you say it quickly, it kind of sounds like you’re saying, “Monkey feet.”

So for today’s post (and your Wolof lesson), let me just say, “Monkey feet.” I am here.

The view from a rooftop terrace (not ours!)

We arrived Thursday night and have been going pretty much non-stop (well, except for when we’ve sat in traffic) since then. All our luggage made it and we’re settling in to the house. More on that later…

79° with a breeze

The biggest shock for me has been the power outtages. I grew up in Africa and knew them as part of life – but never as frequently as this. So our flashlights are getting good use and our internet connectivity is a bit spotty. We did buy a battery inverter though. Yeah, I have no idea what that is either, but I do know that it’s supposed to provide power for our computers (and hopefully the modem) during outtages.

Cheikh and Demba

I could write lots more about the people we’ve seen (Demba!) and met, being woken up by the call to prayer from the mosque, eating the biggest papaya ever, dirty feet, etc… but instead let me leave you with this:

– We now have phone numbers. Let us know if you want them.

– We also have a mailing address and have heard that mail arrives quickly (2 weeks!) without problems. We will happily give that address out if you want it  🙂

– I’m off to buy a plate of ceebu jen (rice a fish)! Monkey feet, my friends. Monkey feet.