22 weeks

Me: Oh! I forgot to tell you… I read that starting this week you can hear the baby’s heartbeat with a stethoscope.

Cheikh: Cool. That reminds me… They have honey at the buutik for 2,500 cfa for a 1.5 liter container.

If you’re wondering what the link is between the two… I was too! Apparently it the honey fell under ‘things I forgot to tell you’ rather than actually having to do with the baby’s heartbeat – which we did hear with Cheikh’s stethoscope last night!

And this morning we heard it at our 22-week dr’s visit. The baby weighs 500 grams (just over a pound) and everything looks good. This won’t surprise those of you who know Cheikh, but the dr said the baby is very active and quite the little sportif!

22 weeks

My friend emailed to ask me how the whole pregnant-in-Senegal experience is going and how different it is from the US. I’m going to answer in a post (some day!) but first I wanted to ask if any of you have specific questions. It’s kind of hard for me to compare since I’ve never done this in the US or France, so your questions will help me know what to talk about or explain.

For example, in the US you probably don’t pay the doctor in chickens, do you?  😉