We found out that our first Wolof language evalutations are next month… and Cheikh is doing way better than I am. I have got to start studying. (Read between the lines: I can’t let Cheikh beat me too badly.)

So last week I decided that every day I should write 100 sentences in English, then translate them into Wolof without looking at my notes.

It took me a couple days to get started, but on Saturday I finally sat down to write my 100 sentences in English, then translate them into Wolof without looking at my notes. It went like this…

I need scratch clean, lined paper and a pen.

Hmm… this piece of paper has enough lines for 50 sentences + their translations. 50 is good, right?

I should probably swap this pen out for a pencil… and grab an eraser.

While I’m here, maybe I should grab my language notebook too?

Okay. Sitting down to write 50 sentences in English first.

1, 2, 3…16…24…37…46, 47, 48. Huh. Apparently I miscounted. Only 48 sentences will fit on this page. 48 it is!

Here we go: sentence number one.

Ouch.

Number two… You know, I really should be checking these with my notes. No point in doing a bunch of sentences incorrectly.

Flip, flip, flip… here it is. My notes on past habitual verb tense. Ugh. Scribble scribble.

Flip-flip-flip. Ugh. Scribble scribble.

Flip-flip-flip. Ugh. Scribble scribble. Erase. Scribble.

Flip-flip-flip. Ugh. Scribble scribble.

Repeat 43 more times.

Time to go make a key lime-banana smoothie to soothe my aching brain.