Today we went to Gorée Island, best known for its historical role in the slave trade. It’s a UNESCO World Heritage Site, so figured we should be sure to check it off Aminata’s list while she was here.

Our table at lunch...cowering in the shade.

We got on the ferry just before noon. The temperature was 100°. By the time we pulled away shortly after noon, the temperature was up to 104°. Yeah. Not cool.

For a moment I considered announcing that I’d changed my mind and the pregnant lady would not be spending the afternoon in the sun at Gorée Island after all. But now, in retrospect, I’m glad I didn’t jump ship ferry.

We made it back about an hour ago with all our wallets and cameras. And no sunburns. Two goals of the day accomplished.

When we arrived at the house, Aminata flicked the lights on and announced in a jubilant voice, “We have power!” Pause. “Should I check to see if we have water?” Pause. “We have water!”

Mad scramble to the showers ensued.

More to come on the day at Gorée. But for now, here we sit, scrubbed clean and cooled off, eating pizza reheated in the microwave (because we still have power!) and some pretty amazing mango.