If a picture is worth 1,000 words, I saw a scene at the market recently that could easily be worth double.

At one of the market stalls, a woman sat in a plastic chair, fully veiled. She was wearing a black long-sleeved dress that came down to her ankles, a black burqa covering her head and face with only a small slit for her eyes, and even black socks and gloves so that no skin was showing.. .with the exception of her breasts as she nursed her baby openly.

Her baby, by the way, was not wearing a veil. But should she decide she needed one, there was a stand at the market selling hijabs (traditional Muslim headcoverings) for women, girls and even babies.

For me, the clash between being fully veiled and breastfeeding in public was just mind-blowing. But it led me to ask if there are ways in which I behave, carry myself or dress that may seem contradictory to others.

I’ve been chewing on that one for a bit. (And also a fresh batch of mango muffins.)