This top is the most lightweight one I own:

20111010-145006.jpg

And this skirt is the coolest one I have:

20111010-145017.jpg

This Wednesday is supposed to be the hottest day of the year so far. Which means I have less than 48 hours to figure out how to fashion myself an ice suit to wear that day.

Or else I may find myself wearing this combo:

20111010-145026.jpg

Yikes.

The good news is that as of today, we are 1/3 through the absolute hottest month of the year!

Hot season begins in July, builds in August, temperatures keep climbing and add high humidity in September, and by the peak in October you are convinced you’re going to turn into a California raisin. (A sweaty, moldy California raisin.)

Then the dry harmattan winds blow in from the desert. It gets hotter and the air is filled with sand and dust for a couple weeks – but you know the end is approaching!

It’s still blazing hot in November. Sometimes in December too. But by the end of the year… relief is in sight.

Relief as in, “Bust out the sweaters. It’s going to be 70° !”

