I'll tell you the story...

My parents are busy, so I thought I’d fill you in on what’s been happening around here with a little re-enactment. Something pretty big kind of, well, didn’t happen today.

Remember how a couple of months ago my mom told you about the super long list of things they had already done to try to get residency in Senegal? If you knew how much longer that list has grown and how many times we’ve been told, “No, you still can’t have the papers you need to stay here,” you’d be shocked.

Shocked, I tell you!

It’s hard for them because it’s not something that they thought would be hard to get. But without those papers, we won’t be able to live here long-term and my dad can’t start his practice or get hired on somewhere full-time. For nine months they’ve tried everything they can think of, but the residency papers seem just out of reach.

See? Just out of reach, like my mobile.

Every time they thought they had all the documents and letters and bank statements the immigration officials would want to see in order to grant them residency, it was never enough. Many times they’ve wanted to throw their hands up in the air and give up.

Ugh! I just want to give up!

Well, they kept at it and my dad hired a lawyer to help figure this whole thing out. My dad and his lawyer have done a lot of reading and researching the options. And I mean A LOT or reading and researching…

Like this.

Sometimes the laws and regulations get really confusing and frustrating and it makes my dad feel like this:

Yikes!

Every detail is wrapped up in so much red tape and bureaucracy.

Here I am wrapped up in (a blanket of) bureaucracy.

And there’s a lot of waiting, waiting, waiting and you feel like  nothing is happening.

Waiting again. Sigh...

Well today was the BIG DAY. The lawyer gave my dad his completed application file with every paper and documentation they could think of. My dad took this file to the immigration office and presented it to the man in charge.

The man immediately asked for a document that my dad cannot provide. He wanted a work contract showing that my dad had been offered a job here in Senegal. But in order to get a work contract, he has to have residency first. It’s a catch 22 that makes all three of us want to do this:

Waaaah!

(Actually, my mom has done that a couple times.)

So when my dad called my mom  this morning after leaving the immigration office, I didn’t know how they’d react to the news that we’re basically back at square one and not anywhere closer to getting residency.

It’s frustrating, for sure. And it’s confusing – why?? But we decided we’ll keep holding on to the reason we came here and keep waiting and trying.

Holding on.

And we’ll rest in the fact that this is out of our control, and believe that the papers will eventually be granted… even if the timing is not what we want.

Resting peacefully