Roadtrip! Just follow me…

Last Friday we had wheels, it wasn’t blazing hot season and Pape had been doing well, so the timing was just right. Time to take him to the village!

We went out to Miname, where I lived when we were here before. It had been about two years since our last visit, so it was great to get back and see people.

Bintou taking Pape around and greeting Khady Seck. (Khady stayed with us when she was sick during her first pregnancy.)

The village chief, Moussa Ndiaye, still looks the same as he did eight years ago. My good friend Bintou has had three more kids, bringing her total into double digits. My ‘baby’ has grown up and is in second grade. Her brother (the one who used to climb the bars on our windows) goes to school in a town nearby. They sent him to live with Bintou’s brother who did not have any sons. I asked Bintou if that was a hard decision and she said yes, but he’ll get a better education and be able to take care of her when she’s old.

Wives of the chief elders

There were handshakes, laughter, pictures, stories and a platter of ceebu jen followed by a round of attaya. Oh, and Pape was a big hit, of course.

One of Bintou’s youngest… of 10 kids!
So really, what’s one more?
Especially when you’ve got help! (That’s ‘my Senegalese baby’ carrying my toubab baby on her back.)
My two babies. I know she doesn’t really remember me (she was just barely older than Pape when I left!), but she I love that she ‘knows’ me from pictures and stories her mom has told her about her ‘toubab mom’.
Just hanging out in Bintou’s room after lunch. The pictures on her wall are all of special family events over the years.
Still Bintou, in every way.
Playing with the kiddos
She looks just. like. her. mom.
I love this one. She was pretending to clean the room.
Pape being toted around by another of Bintou’s daughters
Just up the road is the health clinic where we worked. (It’s been upgraded from a ‘case de santé’ to a ‘poste de santé’ since then.)
We stopped in to see my friend Roxaya, which was great, as always. She’s the daughter of the village imam and is one of the highest-educated women (middle school). She’s working to improve education, healthcare and the environment. Amazing woman.
Saying goodbyes
And hitting the road for our next stop!