Because we live in Africa… He carries his baby on his back.

Because we live in Africa… My Senegalese friend thinks it’s crazy/hilarious that I’m leaving Pape with Cheikh while I go to the beach this weekend.


Because we live in Africa… I got this handpainted tablecloth from Sierra Leone at a yard sale for $12.

Because we live in Africa… I got my first professional haircut (and eyebrow wax) in over a year today.


Because we live in Africa… We can go here to watch the sunset any day.

Because we live in Africa… We think today’s 85-degree weather with 20mph wind is wonderfully pleasant.


Because we live in Africa… We have these windows. (Exact same as in my house in Côte d’Ivoire growing up!)

Because we live in Africa… A friend drove across town to do laundry over here because her water has been cut since Friday. And then when she got here, the power was off!


Because we live in Africa… I find him taking his giraffe on a walk hysterical.