… research and spell-check before getting a tattoo.

Yesterday we had a henna party here at our place. There was Christmas bissap, lots of jabbering and giggling and the henna pen was just a’flying as he inked up our hands, feet, ankles and wrists. Flowers, vines, sayings, verses, swirls and curls…

At the last minute I decided to get a saying on my wrist: peace dancing. It’s a definition for the word ‘joy’ that I just love, and it’s particularly perfect at Christmas.

And then at the last-last minute I decided to get it in Wolof. So I hollered out, “How do you say ‘peace dancing in Wolof?” and went with it.

Hindsight is 20/20, they say. In this case, maybe it’s more like 15/20 ’cause I’m not 100% sure it’s wrong. But not 100% it’s correct either. Care to weigh in, Wolof speakers?

#justhenna #nobiggie
#justhenna #nobiggie

I suspect it actually says ‘dance of peace’. Not a bad thing. At least I got ‘jamm’ spelled correctly. Otherwise it could be either ‘dance of the slave’ or ‘slave to the dance’.

Anyway… life lesson #503: If you’re going to get a real tattoo, be sure to research and spell-check it! I think I’ll just stick with having fun with henna.🙂