He'll owe much of his success in life to me being glued to Pinterest during his formative years.
He’ll owe much of his success in life to my being glued to Pinterest during his formative years.

Pinterest is a never-ending source of inspiration and frustration for me. Finding mason jars and pallets is quite a challenge for me, so that eliminates about 53% of the temptation to get my DIY on. However, I can acquire paint! Well, faire and faire-faire, as they say. ‘To do’ or ‘to have done’. Same thing, right?

Carefully drawing the outlines while looking at photos of baobabs on my computer.
Carefully drawing the outlines while looking at photos of baobabs on my computer. After I’d finished, Cheikh pointed out the baobab growing right outside the window…

I’ve been wanting to tackle painting a family tree on the wall of Pape’s bedroom. Thankfully, we got locked in our apartment so Cheikh had to go to the hardware store anyway to buy a new lock, and I got two cute little buckets of paint out of the deal. My mom had already printed family photos and found little frames, so all that was left was to paint the tree on the wall. That’s all.

Ditching the outline. Much more fun!
Ditching the outline. Much more fun!

The task got a LOT easier once I decided to make it a baobab tree. The baobab tree is one of the symbols of Senegal and is known as a tree of life, so I thought it would be appropriate as a family tree. That and most of the year it’s pretty much just trunk and branches, no leaves = easy to paint. Score.

Parking the tricycle under his baobab.
Parking the tricycle under his baobab. Iowa family on the left, Georgia family on the right.

Is it something I would recreate on another wall if we moved back to the US? Probably not. Is it something that totally works over here? Methinks so.

Picture 3
I signed it. You know, just in case he ever wonders if it was painted by a professional family tree artist.

If you’re considering tackling this kind of project, I have only one piece of advice for you. Do it! It was so much fun, took way less time than I thought (about 90 minutes, start to finish) and I love having something so personalized in his room.