20130211-225801.jpg
My list.

I’ve been meaning to do it for a while, but you know how that goes. But I finally did it. Dinner was cooking, but between flipping plantains on the griddle and stirring the spicy tomato sauce, I grabbed a pencil and a piece of paper to count every thing my husband had done to fix up our apartment.

Our apartment, by the way, is not huge. But it took a lot of work to make it home. Some things were absolutely necessary, like having a water pump installed and fixinf the sink that literally fell apart when we touched it. Others, like hanging pictures, just made it feel more like our space to live and grow.

Room by room, I looked around and counted. 131. That’s how many new closet door knobs, refinished pieces of furniture, hooks for my oven mitts, curtain rods, shower repairs, etc… Cheikh has worked on to make this our home.

20130211-225814.jpg
Your dad is a good man, kiddo.