photo 2

One of the perks to having a husband who volunteers each week is that sometimes the clinic where he treats patients can squeeze you in for a sonogram. This is especially useful if your parents are coming to visit soon and you reeeeally want to know if baby #2 is a boy or a girl before they come, but your next doctor’s appointment isn’t scheduled for another month.

The waiting room at Keru Yakaar

So yesterday afternoon, I got a call from our friend who runs the prenatal care program at Keru Yakaar (House of Hope) clinic in Dakar. She said there would be time for me to be seen if I could get down there ASAP. So I did!

Our friend, Dr. Tabitha Kieviet. She works to inform pregnant women about the risks and empower them to make their own choices.

The timing fell in such a way that Cheikh couldn’t come with me, so I asked them to note the big news on a slip of paper and put it in an envelope so we could open in together when I got home…

photo

It’s a girl!

In addition to their prenatal care program, Keru Yakaar is also relaunching their program for malnourished babies and their families. If anyone in the Dakar area would like to donate baby clothes, just shoot me an email. We will collect them here at our apartment and Cheikh will take them when he goes to the clinic.