So the BBC World Service called me today. Not exactly every day that I can say that.

BBC

They were doing a programme on Ebola in Senegal and Nigeria and I guess found this blog and asked me to be a part of the discussion. However, there was just a wee little mix-up about the time of this live broadcast, so at about 4:22pm I was suddenly and crazily grabbing the kids, my laptop and charge cord and hauling it across the street to our friends’ house where their nanny could watch Thing 1 while I put Thing 2 in a carrier. She amazingly fell right to sleep just in time for sound checks with the BBC. I guess it is kind of old hat for her

photoListen to the episode here.

At 10 mins 50 sec they tried to go to me with a question, but Senegal internet had other plans and Skyped dropped the call.

But you can hear my little clips from 13:15 to 14:05 and from 16:07 to 18:02.

Fortunately you don’t hear bébé Ndeye waking up from her nap just a minute later!

The nutshell version of what I said is that the Senegalese people are relieved but still concerned about Ebola. They stepped up and took responsibility for themselves and listened to health officials, not giving in to panic.

And at 38:30 they talked with our good friend, Dr Tabitha Kieviet who is doing amazing work at Keru Yakaar clinic here in Dakar.

What Can We Learn About Ebola Treatment From Nigeria and Senegal

Nigeria has been declared Ebola-free by the World Health Organisation after going six weeks with no new cases. Nigeria won praise for its swift response after a Liberian diplomat brought the disease there in July. The outbreak has killed more than 4,500 people in West Africa, mostly in Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone. The World Health Organisation also said Senegal is free of Ebola – after a case of the disease occurred in late August. What can we learn from Nigeria and Senegal in how they treated Ebola? What is life on the ground in Nigeria and Senegal? Do people trust the information from WHO?

Listen to the episode here.