Sandy skies = beautiful sunsets
Sandy skies = beautiful sunsets

The winds have changed around here. The humidity has being replaced, gust by gust, by the harmattan winds blowing from the Sahel Desert… right into to our apartment.

But these sandy, dry winds feel cooler than the ever-present muggy heat that had been hanging around since July, so I say bring it, Sahel. Move your sandy dust onto my floor, my kitchen sink, my toothbrush, my pillowcase… Just bring that cool air with you!

Shown here, the dust that accumulated in a 24-hour period on the floor of ONE room of our apartment.
Shown here, the dust that accumulated in a 24-hour period on the floor of ONE room of our apartment.

My harmattan morning ritual…

  • Pretend to still be asleep when Little Thing 1 jumps on me to wake me up.
  • Realize that although it’s still dark out, it is in fact time to get up.
  • Groan. Stretch.
  • Wash the dust off my face.
  • Fluff the dust out of my hair.
  • Brush my teeth. (Hopefully not dusty.)
  • Lotion. More lotion.
  • Drink at least a liter of water.
  • Look outside and mentally crack a joke about the ‘white Christmas’ Senegal is having.
  • Apply Chapstick.
  • Put on sweatshirt.
  • Decide I probably need more lotion on those elbows.
  • Put on sweatshirt again.
  • Put on flip-flops so I can’t feel the dust on the floor.
  • Attempt to make it to the kitchen (COFFEE!) without being spotted by Little Thing 1 or Littler Thing 2 who will inevitably need urgent assistance with a diaper, finding the right green car or getting their head poked through the right hole of their hoodie.
  • Sigh and think, “Well, at least it’s not hot and humid!”
  • Sneeze.