Our sunrise view
Our sunrise view

“Oh, but I love your apartment. The walls are actually straight.”
– my friend on why we shouldn’t look to move anywhere else

Attempted family photo.
Attempted family photo.

“He looks like a real little American today!”
– one of the guards when my son wore cowboy boots, sweatpants, cowboy hat and sunglasses

Tubs of karité for gift bags for women in prison.
Tubs of karité for gift bags for women in prison.

“Try it. It will lighten your skin.”
– the woman selling karité (shea butter) mixed with olive oil and lime juice

Beef delivery!
Beef delivery!

“The label makes it taste better.”
– my friend on the Beer-Sheba packages sporting the labels I designed

Works for me.
Works for me.

“TADAAA!”
– my son every evening when he finishes setting the table

My "winter" shoes
My “winter” shoes

“It gets even colder than this in America, right?”
– a Senegalese friend on a 65-degree morning

Us
Us

“Your husband says you dress him. Nice job.”
– a friend at church

Attaya, Senegalese tea
Attaya, Senegalese tea

“You have to accept that you will be misunderstood at times and be okay with that.”
– a fellow expat here in Senegal on cross-cultural relationships