My husband likes this Senegalese dish called lakh. It’s basically millet porridge with soured milk yogurt topped with fruit and coconut. I like it occasionally, but he could eat vats of it. We haven’t had it in a while so I decided to be all wifely and make him some.

But it requires fresh coconut, which I know approximately zilcho about buying.

IMG_5177

Fortunately my friend and I came across a guy selling coconuts this morning. In general fruit and veggie vendors are great at helping you pick out good quality, but I debated how to approach buying some since I had NOT A CLUE as to how much they should cost. I mean really, is there any better way to open yourself up to getting ripped off than just wandering over wide-eyed and asking how much? So I decided to try something.

I grabbed a 1000cfa bill (about $2) from my wallet and walked over. I greeted the vendor and asked how his day was going, then said, “Jaayma cocos ngir mille francs, s’il te plait.” Basically ‘please sell me 1000cfa worth of coconuts’. I had no idea if this would mean walking away with one coconut or 20.

Turns out the answer is three!

IMG_5182

Please note that this system does not work for everything, say the sheep-skin rugs over by Hypermarché for example. 😉